look what I found in an old journal…

Standard
Kauai is my favorite island... I plan on going back.

Kauai is my favorite island... I plan on going back.

I was standing on the beach
Where the water’s end and the sand meet
Gazing out at the horizon
Watching the sun melt into the sea

The longer I stood, the calmer I became;
The gentle ebb and flow of the waves rolled its rhythm over my feet.
Even as the sun set and its’ light dimmed,
My eyes remained fixed, the overcoming darkness unnoticed.

I was standing on the hill,
Where Heaven and Hell met.
Gazing upon the cross,
Watching the Son bleed into the tree.

And the longer I stood, the calmer I became;
The gentle ebb and flow of His breaths lulled peace over my spirit.
And even as the Son set and His light dimmed,
My eyes remained fixed, the overcoming darkness unnoticed.

In the midst of the darkness, my stance endured,
For even though I could not see the waves, I felt them wash over me.
And when they retreated, I trusted them to their return
For they could not refuse their pattern, their pull.

In the midst of the darkness, my stance endured,
For though I could no longer see His life, I felt His spirit wash over me.
And while He retreated, I trust in His return,
For in His faithfulness, He can not deny Himself.

As I stand on the beach,
Where the water’s end meets the sand;
Gazing out on the horizon,
The Son rising, giving birth to a new day.

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

Leave a Reply

