Little Old Ladies

Standard

It was a beautiful evening tonight. Cool, slight breeze, florescent colored sky, and clouds that looked like atmospheric sky-scrapers.  Needless to say, I spent more time looking up than forward which made getting to my mail box quite the adventure.

Alas, I had no mail.  So I started home.

I strolled slowly, in no hurry to get back. I think for the first time during the entire day, my mind was quiet.  No thoughts of work today, no thoughts of work tomorrow. Just listening to the wind strum little melodies through loose limbs and fallen leaves.

As I turned down my street, I saw a little old lady with a white fluffy dog walking towards me.  And as we got closer, her smile got brigher and wider. Her hair was perfectly quaffed. She was aboslutely beautiful.

Have you ever met an older man or woman who you could tell nearly instantaneously, was probably stop-traffic gorgeous back in the day? Everything from her kind, bright eyes to her gentle spirit was totally captivating.  Something about her made me so comfotable, like I had just gotten home.

As we stopped and talked about the evening, I bent down to pet her little Maltese. “Her name is Suzy,” she told me.

“Enjoy the rest of your evening,” I said. She looked at me, smiled and said, “I hope you enjoy yours as well.”

I didn’t get her name. I wish I had. I hope I see her again because in all honesty, I want to be her friend. I hope I see her again so that we can share a cup of coffee and I can just sit and listen to her talk about whatever she wants.

This picture is completely irrelevant... but I think it's awesome.

This picture is completely irrelevant... but I think it's awesome.

I hope I get to see her smile again because it was so contagious. She was full of life. The kind of life you know was well lived.  Perhaps not free from strain or stress in some season or another, but she still radiated pure and innocent joy.

I hope when people look at me and see me smile they walk away feeling as loved and encouraged as I did tonight.  I hope I live in each moment of every day. I hope I lay my head to sleep each night having taken advantage of every opportunity.  I want to be just like this little old lady when I grow up.

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

2 responses »

  1. I get to be the first on this post to just let you know that there is something captivating about your smile already. You’ve got more spirit than anyone I know.

  2. I bet she felt just the same way about you (except wanting to be you when she got older)

    You make me smile everyday and all I get is to read your status updates!!!

Leave a Reply

