The Beauty of Simplicity

Standard
I love the beauty and mystery of this picture. I just want to know what's around the corner.

I love the beauty and mystery of this picture. I just want to know what's around the corner.

News flash–this time last week I was diagnosed with mono.  And let me just tell you, if you haven’t had it before, it bites. You’re tired all the time; constantly thirsty, your appetite dwindles, and you are so physically fatigued, you can’t think straight.

That being said, I have been under strict monitoring from friends and family, mandating that I rest, sleep, sleep, and rest. When I am not in the office, I am either on the couch or in my bed. The lack-luster scenery has been irritating. 

I don’t rest well. I don’t like sleeping during the day; it feels like a complete waste of time. I don’t have ADD, but I don’t like to sit still either. I’m a physically active person; I like to run. I like to hike. Keep me in a 1,200 sq.ft. apartment and I get a little stir crazy.

But, I have to say that this forced “relaxation” has been refreshing. I realized tonight as I sat out on the Whole Foods patio, sipping soup and flipping through a culinary magazine, that I don’t take nearly enough time to sit and immerse myself in the beauty of simplicity. 

 

Simplicity meaning being as opposed to doing. Being in the moment, making and holding eye contact with another souls and not just glancing at their exterior. Taking the time to indulge and taste every flavor of every ingredient in a meal. Listening to what someone is not actually saying and being brave enough to ask what it is. Taking breaths so deep there’s no room left in your lungs. Closing your eyes and letting the sun dance on your lids. Walking through a park in bare feet, letting the grass tickle your toes.

These things, these little menial things I have so quickly hurried through on my way to the gym or other obligatory committments that I have made a priority, are suddenly dimming in the light of a life that is so much more satisfying and real.  A life full of recognition and response to God. A life of gratitude and worship, whether I am singing, sleeping, or communing with others. A life that is being fully lived, and not just kept up with and checked off.

I hope you, dear reader, don’t ever get mono. But I do hope you take the time to sit and see. Sit and listen. Sit and taste. Sit and love.

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

One response »

Leave a Reply

