Just call me “Sleeping Beauty”

Standard

Sleeping Beauty was my favorite Disney princess. I know I should have out-grown any affinity for Disney fairytale, princess movies, and I have to a certain degree. I don’t own any and I can’t tell you that last time I watched one, but sometimes I still think about renting one. But not just any one, Sleeping Beauty.

I thought she was the best, I don’t know why. But I wanted to be her when I was little. 

I really think we are the most alike of all the princesses and thanks to my current bout with “Mono”, I have had the opportunity to think about this for far too long.

 

I like nature… she likes nature. Exhibit A.            

She sings... I sing.

She sings... I sing.

    

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

She likes old ladies… I like old ladies. Exhibit B.

 sleeping beauty 4

 

Then there’s always the enemy: Exhibit C
I always hated that stupid bird...

I always hated that stupid bird...

Just like the evil witch was out for “Brier-Rose” (a.k.a. Aurora, a.k.a. Sleeping Beauty) so mono is out for me. With a vengeance.  Today was the second day in a row that I have stayed home from work, laid out on the couch.
It’s such an odd dichotomy: if I am sitting down, I feel fine. But when I stand up, I nearly faint. I get dizzy, light headed, I lose my breath… it’s all very strange and very inconvenient.
So you see, we’re basically the same. She sleeps a lot… I sleep a lot. Only I’m real.
And I’m waiting for this guy:
Instead of tights & a cape I'll settle for jeans & a t-shirt

Instead of tights & a cape I'll settle for jeans & a t-shirt

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

5 responses »

  1. ummm I need your address ASAP. I am going to purchase you a must have Disney movie for your collection, not sure which there are several!

    Disney is my favorite genre of movies (yes it stands alone as a genre)

  2. I always really liked Belle. She likes to talk to household objects….I like to talk to household objects.
    She’s in love with a big guy…I’m in love with a big guy. (not a beast) She likes to read and sing while strolling through a cute little village….I like to read. So you see, we are basically the same, too. 😉

  3. @Cynthia- I’ll get it to you;)

    @Trina- totally brilliant! Have you ever taken the “Which Disney Princess Are You?” quiz? google it, take it and tell who you are! I was totally Belle.

  4. I proudly own most of the Disney Princess movies. They’re old school tapes that my family bought back in the day when we were kids and I have since taken them over and added them my movie collection. I LOVE Disney movies! Not sure which is my favorite though. When I was in high school I used to always turn a movie on when I was cleaning my room or getting ready, ect. And at one point for 9 months straight my movie of choice was Sleeping Beauty. I could quote it. And Philip may be a cartoon but he is so Handsome!

Leave a Reply

