PDA: Why it can be TMI

Standard

Public Displays of Affection. In theory, I’m a fan.  A huge fan as a matter of fact.  After all, physical touch is one of my love languages and I think it’s great to see other people “enjoying” each other….  in good taste of course.  I love seeing love, you know? 

However, I am of the strong opinion that there is an appropriate place and time-limit for it. 

Airports, for example are the perfect stage for goodbye hugs and kisses.  And for the most, because planes don’t wait for PDA, they present the perfect time constraint for such occasional but passionate affection.

I dropped my mother off at the Denver International Airport this evening and when I got out to help her with her suitcase, I spotted a lovely couple saying goodbye at the curb. They embraced each other in a long and tender hug.  Her face burried in his neck as he whispered sweet-nothings in her ear.  You could tell he smelled her hair one last time before taking off, as if to take her scent with him. *deep sigh* Sooooo cute.

As he pulled back, his hands suddenly flew south and landed on… well…. yeah.  Then, I discovered that I was witnessing America’s gold medalists Tonsil Hockey Team.  I’ve never seen a man open his mouth so wide.

And that’s when the romance and the love vanished and the up-chuck reflex appeared.  You see, that is simply not necessary.  Leave a little something to the imagination folks. Or, if you simply can’t, cancel your flight and get a room. 

Am I the only one who feels this way? Let’s hear your thoughts.

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

2 responses »

  1. hahahahahahahaha I might have just fallen a little bit in love with you after reading that… SOOO true! Love how tender the moment seems reading your post…lol

Leave a Reply

