Story of My Life

Standard

 

Not sure how you get these confused... but don't worry, I figured it out.

Not sure how you get these confused... but don't worry, I figured it out.

 

 

 

 

 

Saturday night, my friend and I went to a parade of sorts in downtown Colorado Springs.  Apparently, every year, the International Association of Fire Fighters gathers in this quaint city to celebrate and commemorate fallen brethren from across the country.  In uniform and performing “Amazing Grace” by bagpipes, it draws quite the crowd.

 

After their performance and dedication ceremony, they hurd to a place called “Jack Quinn’s,” an authentic Irish pub that typically has live celtic music every weekend.  My friend and I like Irish music as preformed by firefighters in kilts with hard-hats… who wouldn’t? 

So there we are, listening to music and meeting local heroes, thanking them for their service and good looks “strong character”.  Two in particular seemed mutually appreciative, so the four of us hung by the band.

This is where my serious lack of “stealth” comes into play.  The one that I was fond of per se, walked towards the bathroom to take a call.  Not really knowing what to do with myself, I decided to go the bathroom and freshen up.  Can I just say that as a woman, I still haven’t figured out how you freshen up? 

He stood leaning against the wall, facing both entrances to the bathroom.  I decided to play it cool and not make eye contact.  As I walked by, concentrating on not looking observant but rather oblivious, I took a sharp right through the bathroom door.

The men’s bathroom door.

Now I’m not really sure why or how you confuse the women’s and men’s sign when it is clearly written in English, represented in a picture, and then made available in brail, but your’s truly never ceases to pull off the impossible.

When I realized that the reason the “women” seemed to be more robust and hairy than normal, I threw up my hands, squealed, spun around and tackled about three girls as I ran into the girls’ restroom.

And Mr. Hottie-with-a-body caught the whole thing. Front row-center.

As I stared at myself in the mirror, mortified, I realized that there was going to be no way to recover.  So I didn’t even try. I walked out, head down, avoiding eye contact as I approached my party.  Jordan, my friend turned around to ask what was wrong.  Then, Adonis (the greek god himself) piped up and told the story with his perfectly white and aligned smile.

I didn’t know what to do… and I guess that worked, because he gave me a huge hug and said, “That was the most adorable thing I have ever seen.”

And as quickly as it had happened, I was over it.  Brownie points for Mere Bear.

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

4 responses »

  1. Best ever – love the “strong character” comment…and Adonis of course…and the name is spelled J-O-U-R-D-A-N… Kimballs!

  2. I am literally rolling on the floor! You crack me up…but I had a feeling it would earn you points! So happy you had a fun (and adventurous) night 🙂

  3. I am literally rolling on the floor! You crack me up…but I had a feeling it would earn you points! So happy you had a fun (and adventurous) night 🙂

Leave a Reply

