Smooth Move Slick

Standard
I wish I looked this cool... I definitely did not. Just ask the rest of the folks who saw me.

I wish I looked this cool... I definitely did not. Just ask the rest of the folks who saw me.

If you have known me for very long (and even if you haven’t) you may have noticed that I am not, shall we say “graceful.”  I have the ability to trip over nothing.  I can regularly say the absolutely wrong thing at the wrong time; it’s as if I don’t have filter.  And I have been known to fail miserably when it comes to telling jokes.  On any given day, I either can’t remember how to tell the joke (which I don’t realize till I have already started it) or I ruin the punch line. 

The other day, at the gym, I was on the treadmill and watching the television in front of me.  I had my headphones plugged into the treadmill so that I could in fact listen to the show I was watching.  Then, all of the sudden…

ZAP!

In reaction to the electric shock I got to my ear drum, my head twitched to the right, my shoulder raised, and I grimaced.  That was weird.   I kept walking.

 

ZAP!

Ouch!  Again with the twitch, spastic shoulder shrug and a constipated look on my face.  What the…? I took out my right ear phone and looked at it as if it were possessed.

I got a glimpse of the guy behind me, on an elliptical. He looked away as soon as I made eye contact.

Awesome, this guy thinks I have turrets.

Why am I telling you this? In the event that you find yourself in a similar situation, do yourself a favor and take your headphones off.  Save yourself the pain to your cochlear and your socical status.

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

One response »

  1. The trick to this is once he’s thinking that…just play along as if you have turrets… Then see just how crazy you have to get before he changes ellipticals… It makes it much more humorous for those of us that are down at the other end on the bikes watching him squirm…

Leave a Reply

