Another Weekend, Another Wedding

Standard
I can't help by think of "Sound of Music" when I look at this picture. The hills are ALIVE!

I can't help by think of "Sound of Music" when I look at this picture. The hills are ALIVE!

Well friends, it’s that time again. Can you hear it? Wedding bells.  Their calling.  Ushering bridemaids from across the nation, uniting friends and family to witness matrimonial bliss. 

They are also emptying my bank account.  But alas, they beckon, and I must follow their gongs to the east coast.  Back to Virginia where I spent a memorable and formidable four years of my life.  Back to the place where I discovered that Liberty was only the name of the institution, not something that they handed out.  The place where I learned “DTR” stands for “determine the relationship;” a traditional first-date topic of conversation.  And finally, the place I discovered that no, I don’t want to get married immediately after four years of an expensive (and extensive) education just to sit at home and bake while with child.  I wouldn’t have need two semesters of accounting to do that.

 Needless to say, I’m a little nervous about going back. It’s going to be surreal.  A step back into the past, if you will.  The only thing is, nothing will be the same.  It will look different.  It might smell the same, but I won’t recognize any faces.  I might remember how to get around, but I won’t being going about town running errands like all the other residents; I will be passing through as a visitor.  I will undoubtedly feel displaced.

As my dad would say, “such is life, sweetheart.”

Why am I telling you this?  Because I will be disconnected for a few days, but I am excited and confident that I will come back with enough material and stories to keep this blog rolling for a while.

So until then my friends, ciao bella!

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

One response »

  1. Good description of small Christian colleges.
    “DTR” is said often ’round here, too… also, a couple of my college friends recently got engaged. And so it starts. Dun dun dunnnn…

    Ha. It makes me so happy to get to read your blog! I’m glad your Virginia trip went well! I miss Colorado and I miss sharing our cube. Hope you’re doing great! God bless!

Leave a Reply

