Post Wedding Travel Tips

Standard
teasing gone wrong...

teasing gone wrong...

I thought I’d share some helpful information with you (for free) in hopes that I may spare you some embarrassment the next time you are traveling back home from a wedding weekend.

It was the morning after the wedding. I had slept maybe 8 hours over the course of 72, so you could say  I was tired. Fortunately, thanks to 97 bobby-pins and 2 cans of AquaNet hairspray, my hair had maintained it’s wedding-day-do with sheer perfection. Now typically, I dress up when I travel (because you never know who you’ll meet) but considering I had sported a bridesmaids dress and horrible heels for hours the night before, I decided to sport sweats for the four hour drive to Washington DC where I could catch my first of two, three hour flights.  Needless to say… I looked awesome. (*I really hope you picked up the sarcasm)

Now I did not catch the bridal bouquet at the reception, but I still had my bridesmaids’ bouquet in tow.  It was a beautiful arrangement and I thought perhaps I would take it home, dry it out, and …. do something with it.  I really hated the idea of wasting such beautiful expensive flowers and I didn’t want to ruin them by shoving them in my carry-on.

Needless to say, I think I made quite the scene as I traipsed through Reagan International Airport.  Hair done like I was going to prom, sweats on like I had come from the gym, and flowers in hand like I had come straight from the presidential garden.  Looking back, I realize that this particular fashion decision screamed just one thing: DESPERATE.

How do I know this?  Well, all the head-turning gave me the initial impression that I was making an unintentional scene.  But I really felt like I stood out when all the flight attendants asked if I had just gotten married.  Now, this is an offensive and odd question for two, very obvious reasons: (1) I did not have a rock ring on my finger, and (2) I was not being followed by a man.  I would have been traveling to my honeymoon destination… alone.  Bummer.

But the more common question was (painfully), “So, were you in a wedding?” (*asked only by men… just saying.)

“No, I’m coming from a floral arrangement course taught by Martha Stuart.”

So, do yourself a favor, when traveling home from a wedding, don’t make it obvious that you are (a) coming from a wedding and (b) still single after coming from a wedding.

A little helpful hint from yours truly.

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

One response »

Leave a Reply

