Why Grocery Shopping Killed My Self-Esteem

Standard

You know it’s funny, I love grocery shopping because I love food to cook.  I voluntarily roam every isle in no particular order, searching for no particular thing–I’ll buy or try just about anything.  I can spend inordinate amounts of time on any isle, reading labels, considering recipes, and walking by the sample trays…. more than once.  And I derive immeasurable joy from it all.

Until tonight.

Want to know what killed it for me? The “Super-Single-Shopping-Cart.”

 

grocery cart2

Nothing screams "I'm REALLY single!" quite like this

 

Let’s just be honest… it is brutally obvious when you’re pushing this beast around that you are shopping for one; cooking for one.  As if that doesn’t cross your mind when you are getting a half-dozen eggs instead of a full dozen.

As I wandered through Whole Foods tonight, getting the half-size options for all my food selections, I realized that some marketing person, somewhere, had a really sick sense of humor when they made these little carts that hold little more than a couple of apples and a block of cheese.

The one and only upside to this misery is that, due to its lack of space, you get to legitimately use the “Less than 12 items” check-out lane.

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

4 responses »

  1. Soooo painfully true! Goodness…thanks for bringing that up…I’m gunna go lay in my empty queen bed that i have enough pillows for 2 on just to make me feel better about it and think about that… 😉 jkjk Always a good story, always a good laugh! Thanks!

  2. Meredith,

    Trust me…really…trust me…you will one day MISS those small shopping carts, time alone to go shopping, let alone taking the time to actually read labels and think about what to cook…you will miss it because one day, your time will not (let me repeat) will not be your own.

    Don’t get me wrong, I am thankful for my family…but goodness can I even go to the restroom alone???!! I usually have little fingers poking underneath the door…”Mommy???? Whatcha doin’ in there?!!” I mean, c’mon! Or – granted I love my husband – but no, I will not pick up ruffles chips and three boxes of soda on my shopping trip…lol.

    Enjoy this time…please…for me!!!

    Love ya!
    Britt

  3. Or… you could look at it as a subtle way to say you are single while shopping in uber cool places and it might attract another foodie just as yourself.

Leave a Reply

