Can I have a “re-do” Please?

Standard

Have you ever had one of those days that by lunch the thought crosses your mind “I should have stayed in bed today and saved myself the trouble”?

Yesterday was one of those days.  It spiraled downward from the time my feet hit the floor when I rolled out of bed.  Why? I have no idea, but it went a little something like this…

How is that if a person, me, wakes up at the same time everyday, goes through the same routine of getting ready, can leave their apartment 15 minutes later than usual. Just on this one day.  Nothing was different. I did everything the same. And yet, I walked through the door 15 minutes later.  Now if you know me, you know that I am stickler for promptness. I’m never late. I hate the feeling of rushing to avoid being late.  Needless to say, I felt rushed before I even left the apartment.  *que small snow ball rolling down a hill*

As a way of consoling my confusion, I took myself through the nearest Starbucks drive-thru.  Considering that it was 9 degrees below zero (*que the pushing of the snow ball–I don’t do cold) and every school district was closed, I knew traffic wouldn’t be a problem.  As I pulled into the lane, I noticed I was the only car.  How convenient.

I placed my order and pulled to the window. I was greeted by an apparently peeved employee who I didn’t recognize me and could seemingly care less that I was in a hurry.  She swiped my card and then instructed me to roll up my window while I waited.  “Um.. what? How long do I need to wait?” She didn’t hear me because she closed her window and walked around the corner.

7  MINUTES LATER, she came back around, still miffed about life, and handed me my drink.  “Thanks,” I said, only not meaning it.  As I drove off, I waited for a mile or two before I took a sip of the liquid goodness because the roads were a bit slick.  When I came to a red light, I lifted the festive cup to my mouth and …. what the?!

Not. My. Drink. *que snow ball growth*

Now, it takes a lot to upset me or even irritate me.  I’m fairly understanding and patient.  But mix my two pep-peeves, running late and bad customer service, and I’ll go postal.

As I turned left, I fell in line behind Grandma Suzy who apparently was out for her Sunday drive… 4 DAYS EARLY!  Now don’t get me wrong, I love old people. Their full of wisdom and grace and faith and love.  But Lord have mercy! I would gladly put more money towards social security to provide for a senior citizen chauffeur service.

As she weaved from left to right, making up lanes as she went along at 30 in a 45, I started praying.

“Dear Jesus, I need a  large dose of grace.  Please forgive…. the idiot barista that screwed up my drink. DOH! That’s not what I meant. Crap… I’ll have to get back to you.”

*que larger snow ball*

As I pulled into work, I had a feeling that, despite the joy of my work, the rest of the day would be plagued by the way it started.  Why is that? Why can a day never seem to redeem itself?

Work actually went smoothly.  After work, I began to head to the gym to blow off some steam,  but a friend called needed a lift home.  “No problem. I’m there.”

I picked her and dropped her off.  I pulled into the gym an hour later, walked into the locker and began to change.

“Socks. Where are my socks? You have got to be kidding me… unbelievable.”

So I redressed and left the gym 5 minutes later. Calorie burn–1.5

From there, I crossed the street into Whole Foods, picked up a pizza and headed home.  “Fine,” I thought to myself. “I’ll just eat my feelings.”

As I got into some comfortable sweats and settled in at home, I walked into the kitchen to put the pizza in the oven. Tricky little things, ovens.  As I slid the pizza in, I also gracefully slid my arm into the rack and burnt a nice part of my forearm.

*insert curse word here*

*que avalanche*

The stench of burn arm hair lingered in the kitchen the rest of the evening.

The saving grace of the day? My friends that came over to laugh at me and help me laugh at myself.

I know that these things seem trivial, but when enough of the little, unexpected things flare up, it rocks me. I wish it didn’t. I know that the Lord knew what was going on. I also know that He wasn’t caught off guard or worried about my day because well, He was/is in control.

So… moral of the story? Life happens. There will be days that bite the big one.  But remember, they can only last 24 hours.

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

Leave a Reply

