The Power of a Compliment

Standard

Don't forget to have a little "tact." I think compliments are underrated. It’s as if people have become frightened to tell people something nice for fear of feeling silly or even being thought of as deceptive or strange. Why? When did that become the trend?

The reason that I wonder is because  today I received one of the best compliments that I have gotten in long time. At it’s core, it was simple; nothing necessarily that was overly ornate or elaborate. But that was the beauty of it. It was simple, straight forward, and honest.

And that combination of kindness, truth, and sentimentality resulted in the greatest form of encouragement–it was a natural overflow of a genuine heart; an outpouring of edification and affirmation from one believer to another that the Lord used to remind me of how much He loves when my heart desperately needed reminding.

All because of a compliment. All because someone took a chance and told me something that (a) I didn’t know that they thought and (b) I have struggled to accept.

I don’t know if this registers with you at all, but it’s a big deal.  Why? Because I don’t think that what this person did was as extraordinary as it was simply obedient. Is this not what we’re called to? According to Ephesians 4:29 it would appear that we are:

29Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen.

Proverbs 18:21 also says that

The tongue has the power of life and death

That is to say, you have the ability to share the life, power, and freedom of Christ with someone simply by what it is that you say.  You also have the ability to destroy that same life, power, and freedom by not speaking in truth and love.

Moral of the story–if you admire, respect, or simply feel the need to let someone know why you think they are “spectacular,” please take it. Please tell them how you feel and what you think because… what if no one else ever does?


About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

Leave a Reply

