A Weekend in Los Angeles

Standard

Skyler was the first person I met when I moved from big-city suburb outside of Houston to a shockingly small town south of Austin.   She was my neighbor.  She was the one that talked me into trying out for the volleyball team and then talked me into staying on the volleyball team once I made it.  *they never cut people…*

When we met, she and I were polar opposite.  She was endlessly confident and her personality was impossibly contagious.  I was shy.  Truly, I used to be incredibly quiet and so easily intimidated by just about anyone or anything.

She was brave. I was not. She spoke her mind. I didn’t dare. She loved the social hour of lunch. I ate in the locker-room.

To this day I remember when she told me, “I’m going to burst that little bubble you live in.  You need to loosen up and learn to have fun.”

Here’s another thing about Skyler– when she puts her mind to something, come hell or high water, she will do it.

And she did. She changed me, for the better.  And now all the things that made us different before, have now made us closer and more alike.

All this to say, I flew out to see her in LA this past weekend.  She a movie producer, make-up artist, and investment broker.  No lie.  She’s kind of a big deal.

So what did we do? We sat around and watched endless episodes of her favorite new sitcom, “Chuck.”  Because that’s what best friends do.  They sit around, doing nothing and not saying a word, and have a grand time.  And for that, I am eternally grateful.

Who can turn the world on with her smile?

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

One response »

  1. Wow, that was touching. I went to school with skyler for so long and I always admired her ambition. My ambitious nature came a little later in life, but at least it came. That’s awesome to hear she is doing so well and making a difference in the world even if its one friend at a time, or one audience at a time. I don’t know if you remember how quite I used to be but I finally found myself and snapped out of it. Now I enjoy motivational speaking and I teach fitness classes, so its funny how people break out of their shells. One half full cup at a time. Best wishes to you! Where are you living now? I live in canyon lake right now and work all over the hill country area. Anyhow
    Thanks for the awesome blog

Leave a Reply

