Tis a Sweet Death

Standard

“I died,” she said after she read it.  Tis a sweet death I thought to myself. 

Perhaps it sounds masochistic, I don’t mean for it to.  I simply mean that, if the reality and truth of the Gospel unveils our eyes and breaks our hearts to the point that we finally understand what it means and could feel like to “die to ourselves,” then yeah, tis a sweet death.  Because in the removal of self from our pursuits and priorities, all that is left to behold, attain, and love is Christ. All that is left, when we’re no longer in our own way, is all that God is and all that He has waiting for us.

So what brough this up? What else? A kid living in poverty, talking about how blessed he is. My heart simultaneously broke my him as well as myself.  It broke for him because he is one of so many.  It broke for myself because I want to know the depth of his faith in my own life someday.  I want to know his peace.

If you have the guts and are willing to risk being wrecked, and I highly encourage that you take said risk, read this.

And watch this.

And then sponsor a child just like him.

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

3 responses »

  1. I’m with ya. This was soem awesome stuff. I had just added a 19 year old young man from Kenya as my second sponsor and then added a little girl during the trip for my third one.
    The boy, Phinius, wrote me and I got his letter today. He has finished secondary school and is now awaiting the results of his exams in hopes to further his education. Might I impose on you to say a prayer for this young man’s hope to fulfill this dream?

  2. Howdy Robert!
    First, thanks so much for taking the time to read the post and leave a comment! So great to hear from you! I’m so excited to hear that you are now sponsoring so many kids! Thank you so much for supporting the ministry. I work at Compassion too, so it means a lot to me personally. I’ll keep Phinius in my prayers!

  3. Pingback: Compassion Bloggers in Guatemala | Learning as I go…

Leave a Reply

