A Little Pep Talk

Standard

Have you ever wondered if where you are now, circumstantially, is just a launch pad for where you are headed? Do you ever feel as though you are meant for something else? Perhaps something bigger or more risky than what you currently face?  Do you every find yourself daydreaming about this thing? About this destiny?

I know this all sounds like hippie-dippie-, granola-in-my-pocket crap.  Even new-agie.  If you know me at all, I’m none of those things.  I as because lately, I find myself wrestling internally with this feeling, need, or desire if you will, to do things that I know I can not do in my own strength or ability. I’m suddenly dreaming bigger, having these fantastically lofty goals, not about who I want to be as much as what I want to be a part of.  It’s not even something I want to do single handedly, rather its a movement of a community that I want to be pouring into, encouraging, enabling and being spent for.  

To be honest, I have no idea what “that” even looks like.  What I do know is that, while I sound off my rocker, I ain’t crazy.  This is something that we all feel.  This push for something more than ourselves is intrinsic– it’s part of our genetic make-up. We can’t help but want to be in the midst of greatness.  We need to work towards and for something.  We long for accomplishment not for personal gain, but for the presentation of that thing to the One who enabled us to do it.

  My fervency for this thing, as of late, has been squelched in a number of different ways.  And while it would be easy to give up on this or that because it appears improbably or impossible, I can not separate myself from it.  It wasn’t my idea in first place, so I can not deny it. I can not rid myself of something I did not create.  Just like sin, I can not separate myself from my fallen nature. But God can and did.

My prayer is that, in the same way He saved me from the things I did not want to do, He will deliver me into the things that I have learned to yearn for.  When He changes us, He changes all of us.  My desires and your desires, are not what they once were.  And so if these new-found desires and dreams are instilled in us by another, we can only hope and wait and pray that they will come to fruition not because of our ability but because of our availability. 

I feel like I am talking gibberish. 

I think this guy nails is…

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

3 responses »

  1. I totally understand ‘that’ feeling, desire…but could have never expressed it so well….I too am learning as I go.

  2. Mere…you’re at the beginning of an amazing journey. Don’t give up on your dreams or let others dissuade you from what God is calling you to do. Take it from me, the longer you wait, the harder it is to stay on track and the easier it becomes to lose sight of those dreams. Keep your eyes on Him and the path He lays out before you..and then hang on for what will most likely be an incredible ride!

    Regarding the new layout…while it’s got a clean, unsophisticated feel it still doesn’t quite capture the essence of your blog. There’s something about “Learning as I go…” that is inquisitive and experiential. You’re letting others in on the beauty of life as you encounter it. It’s easy to keep searching and trying new things…kind of like life itself. Maybe part of the personality of “Learning as I go…” is that you’re not willing to settle for any singular look so an ever changing style is appropriate. Just a thought!

    • RIC! first, thank you for the encouragement and insight. That is priceless to me and I take it to heart. Thank you for taking the time to share that:) second, I agree with you on the layout. It’s close, but still not “it.” I can invision what I think it ought to look like in my mind, but I haven’t come across any templates that quite capture it. Does Creative Blue design websites? Perhaps I’ll hire out! I do like the idea, at elast for a bit, of changing it up every couple of days or weeks to keep things fresh. Brilliant idea:)

Leave a Reply

