Have You Ever Had a Theme Song?

Standard

I feel like I go through seasons when I come across a song that literally puts a melody to the beat of my heart.  It’s as if the music and lyrics combined bring shape to what it is that I can not seem to describe. Thoughts, feelings, questions, and longings are suddenly brought to life and played out in my mind to the rhythm of this song and all of the sudden the weight of what I carried lightens.  

Why? Because I didn’t write the song.  Someone else thought, felt, questioned and longed for the same thing before me. All of the sudden, I’m not alone. That’s the beauty of music if you think about it. Why do you peopled resonate so deeply with what is sung and played?  Because if someone else is singing it, then there is harmony; there are no solo acts. No one is ever on a stage by themselves.  People chime in and sing back-up, one at a time, because they understand and relate to the cry of song. 

So here’s my theme song…

Maybe I held on, far too tight

Got lost in the battle, forgot to fight

Hope so big, faith so small

Faith so small

Sing my lonesome away, away

Promise you’ll save me, bail me out

Come to my rescue, remove all doubt

I’m so alone, but no one knows

No one knows

Sing my lonesome away, away

Sing my lonesome away, away

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

7 responses »

  1. I don’t think I’ve had what I would consider a theme song since I was a grumpy teen who listened to pretentious alt-rock bands 🙂

    My wife disagrees because I still listened to pretentious alt-rock bands well into my twenties.

    • I just checked out your blog & I’m so excited to read it! While snooping around, I found out you work for Compassion Canada… small world. Did you know I work for Compassion USA?

      • I did, but only because I noticed you were in the Compassion employees list on Twitter 🙂

        Small world indeed! How are things in the Springs?

    • oh good call Tony! I love that song! Honestly, there are a slew of songs I was trying to pick from when I thought about this post– so many apply. Perhaps I will post a different one tomorrow:)

  2. Pingback: My Theme Song | Mom's Kitchen and Stuff

Leave a Reply

