The “Harm”

Standard

Confession– I tried eHarmony. For about six months.

And I only did it because, as  it turned out, it wasn’t just for freaky-deaky, socially awkward, used-to-be-homeschoolers.  I found out that a lot of my friends were on it and were enjoying their “results” shall we say.  So I gave it a go.

Turns out the world of “eHarmon-izers” is really small. 

I went to the movies on Friday night with two friends of mine from Bible study.  As we were standing in line to get our tickets, I glanced behind me and spotted a young man that was looking at me, or so I thought. 

Huh… he looks really familiar. Why?  Another glance confirmed it. He was my first eHarmony date.

As I chuckled to myself, I told my friends that I had a funny story for them but that we needed to get into the theater first.

As we walked into lobby, Lindsay exclaimed, “OMG y’all, I went out with that guy last week.”

“Which one?” we asked.  Lindsay pointed. 

She pointed to the same guy I went out with.  “Um.. are you on eHarmony?” I asked her.

“Yeah… we went out last week.”

“Welp,” I said, “I went out with him too… in September!  And he told me that he was cancelling his subscription! LIES!  So, how did it go?”

“Not well,” she remarked dryly, “I couldn’t get him to talk!”

“That’s ironic,” I said. “I couldn’t get him to shut up.  Maybe we should start a support group.  I’m sure there are many more just like us out there.”

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

Leave a Reply

