“They’re Real”

Standard

One of the beauties of traveling is the over-heard conversations of fellow passengers.  That’s right. I eavesdrop.

Don’t tell me you don’t. Planes are getting smaller and the seats on them ever more so. You are uncomfortably close to perfect strangers whether you like it or not. One can only pray that they have something memorable to say to make the flight worth your time.

On my trip to Dallas, I struck gold.

I was sitting in the window seat directly behind a loud blond from Oklahoma. Next to her was a business man from Florida.

As we sat on the runway, waiting for clearance to take off, the gentleman, apparently new to flying, was looking out the window at all the little luggage trucks buzzing around.

“They’re real,” she said. Completely unprovoked.

“Excuse me,”  he replied utterly mortified. His face was priceless. He went sheet white. His eyes as wide as saucers and his jaw gaping open.

“I saw you looking. They get a lot of people’s attention and I’m always asked,” she explained.

“I’m uhhh. I’m sorry…. um.” He stammered.

“My nails. I saw you looking at my nails. And yes, they’re real,” She stated.

Aren’t awkward moments grand?

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

