Something About Sunday’s

Standard

There’s something about Sunday’s that never fails to make me a little homesick.  I think it’s a combination of things: my dad’s omelets, which I can not recreate to save my life; my small town church, where everyone knows my name (insert Cheer’s theme song here); and spending the afternoon sprawled out in the living room, reading, napping, and watching the last few holes of a PGA golf tournament.  It’s hard to do that anywhere apart from home.

As I got ready for church this morning, I asked the Lord to show up, say something, and make sure that I didn’t leave the same as when I walked in the sanctuary.  And to be totally transparent, I prayed that He would put a band-aid on my heart; to stop the flow of loneliness that has been leaking out as of late.

As I sat there, waiting for service to start, I literally heard a whisper “Psalms 27 and 34… read it.” I’ve never been one to not do what I was told, so I whipped my bible open.

Psalm 27

Then Psalm 34. Verse 18 is what really hit home– 18The LORD is near to the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.

I don’t know that I am “brokenhearted” God. That seems a wee bit extreme, don’t you think?  Then, it was as if He let me see into my own soul to uncover the answer.

You don’t want to admit that you are or have been brokenhearted because you think that’s the point of no-return. To admit to being crushed, means you are beyond repair, recovery is impossible, and all you can offer now is “damaged goods.”  But look again where I reside? I am “close to the brokenhearted” and I “save the crushed in spirit.”  You are right where you need to be for me to do what only I can.

To be honest, I don’t remember much about the actual service, but here’s what I journaled:

You promise to make whole what has been broken. You heal the sick and you mend the wounded. You rescue the captive and you guide the wandering lost. You guard the weak and you carry the weary. You clothe in grace those that shame has left naked. You sing love songs over those who have been passed over. You redeem the disregarded and you restore beauty to the bruised. You justify innocence for the convicted and guilty. You save the wretch and you marry the whore. You breathed life into dirt and called it yours. 

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

One response »

Leave a Reply

