So… I May Be a Little Dramatic

Standard

My poor mother. She has put up with a lot of crazy from me in the last week in the form of very teary-eyed phone calls. Let’s start with the most ridiculous story first, shall we?

Last Friday, I wasn’t feeling well. For me to admit that I don’t feel well, takes a lot. I never get sick and will deny that I am sick for an illogical amount of time before I must concede defeat and take a pill or drink some nasty syrup. But last Friday, I gave in quickly. I left work early, came home and literally fell on the couch. I had a headache that made opening my eyes hurt. My body was beyond fatigued, but I hadn’t seen the gym in… it doesn’t matter how long I went without going to the gym, the point is that I was tired when I shouldn’t have been.  These two symptoms alone are extremely out of the ordinary for me. So I did what seemed most appropriate. I called my mommy.

“Mom,” I said as my voice cracked and my chin quivered. “I don’t feel good. My head hurts so bad. The light is making it worse too. I would close the blinds but I can’t get off the couch. I think something is very wrong. I’m scared… I think…” *sniff, sniff, sob, “I mean, could I be depressed? I have all the symptoms according to the commercial!”

*heavy sigh* “Mere… we have this conversation every August. You are not depressed.  The only thing that is wrong with you is that you have allergies. You always get allergies this time of year and they always make you feel this way.”

“Oh yeah! That’s right! Oh thank God. Thanks Momma.”

She undoubtedly thought I was psycho after that conversation.  But I decided to give her more evidence during last night’s conversation, just to really drive home how crazy I can be.

After having looked at townhouses the day before and consulting with my dad about something called an “amortization calculator,” it became abundantly clear that buying a home is probably not a feasible option for me right now. My dad put me on the phone with my mom. “So,” she started, “what’s the consensus?”

“Well, clearly I need to marry a doctor,” I said dryly. Then the floodgates opened and my little ‘ol tear ducts just couldn’t contain the flow. *gasp* “I mean, how in the world could anyone afford a home…ever?! Adulthood is so expensive! *sniff, sob, sob* “And I want to save, but I really need a new pair of brown pumps! I need to look nice for work and that’s expensive too!”  *sob, sniff, sniff*

“Mere,” she said in an incredible calm manner. “You could have them polished at a shoe store.

“They’re… *sob*… They’re… *sniff*… SUEDE!

“Ok hon. It’s late, maybe you should just go to bed,” she recommended.

To bed I went.  And when I called her the next morning, I apologized for being totally insane.

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

3 responses »

  1. My pearls of wisdom…for what they’re worth:

    1. Raw Honey…seriously, if you can get some from a local farmers market, it does wonders for allergies. Take a tsp a day forever..lol. I have allergies too, but only when I live in Virginia…I get migraines and my teeth feel like they’re going to fall out because the pressure is so bad. But only when I don’t take my raw honey.

    2. Home ownership is not all that it’s cracked up to be. Even after you pay for the home, you have to pay even more to keep it in shape. I cannot tell you how much we have spent because well, we don’t have a landlord to foot the bill. And, we’re never going to get back what we paid for this house because we bought right before the market went bad 😦 I really don’t ever want to own a home again…ever.

    On the bright side, you have shoes, a roof over your head, a doctor that you can see if those allergies get outa control, incredibly good looks, and a momma you can call. Chin up…you’re very blessed and I love you lady 🙂

    • woman! You have no idea how much that meant, truly! I teared up a little, and I’m at work! Thanks for the tip on local honey and for the personal insight into home ownership. Both great things to know. Most importantly, thanks for helping me remember that I’m crazy blessed to be healthy and surrounded by people that I love. I really do appreciate you!

  2. I heard your dad laughing last night (belly laughing)….and since I thought he was watching football, I figured it had to be a commercial….well, upon further investigation…he said ‘no it wasn’t a commercial, it’s Mere’s blog….she wrote about her conversations with you.” I waited til this morning…Interesting how he thinks it funny….next time try crying on the phone with him……. then let’s see who is laughing! Love you so much!

Leave a Reply

