The Prosperity Gospel- Preaching Idolatry

Standard

This video is not for the faint hearted. I pray though that we would come to know and see and hear the Truth of the real Gospel, and that we would be made fully alive, set free, and completely satisfied by the Giver.

I really don’t know how I came across this video, but I do know why I did. Despite the fact that I have argued against the biblical and theological fallacies of the “Prosperity Gospel,”  I have been praying and thinking as though it were in fact truth.  And this video tipped me off.

What I have asked for in prayer has dictated my praise when left unmet or unanswered.  And that’s a problem. If I am totally honest, I would have to admit that my feeling of worth in God’s eyes is diminished when He says “no.”  Why? Because He didn’t love me enough to give me what I wanted. And there in lies the problem– He was not all I wanted for total satisfaction. I wanted what He could do or provide.  I loved the gift more than the Giver. I was and have been an idolater of many things; I have been near-sighted far too long. I have insisted on playing in mud puddles when a gracious and merciful God has beckoned me to the ocean (reference CS Lewis).

I have idolized what I have created as good, as “enough-for-now” when God Himself waits to bless with me with more than I dare ask for or hope.   

God, may we trust you wholeheartedly, with all that we are and everything we have. It is all yours; do with it what you please. May you use us to bring glory and honor to your name.

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

2 responses »

  1. Hey,
    I clicked over from Shaun Groves’ website. Just wanted to say I was encouraged by this video. Just moments earlier, I was sitting here wrestling with thoughts I have about wealth and the poor and Jesus, and what am I supposed to do. The video helped. thanks.
    -Cherish

    • Hey, I’m so glad you stopped by and I’m stoked that the video was encouraging! I’m in the same boat- wrestling with how to justify wealth vs poverty and our role in the midst of it.

Leave a Reply

