It’s Who We Are, Not What We Do

Standard

I had a brain wave the other day.

Working in a ministry setting, you hear a lot of jargon about “doing Kingdom work.”  Whether you work in a church or for a ministry organization, the emphasis so often is on “doing God’s will,” or “fulfilling your calling,” or my personal favorite, “reaching the world for Christ.”

Let me clarify by saying that all of these motivations and missions are great. Truly. I think that they are all admirable. I have quoted all these mantras myself at one time or another. But do you see all the action words in those statements (“doing,” “fulfilling,” and “reaching,”) were dependent on the person carrying them out?  It seems as though the focal point of our personal missions and messages are… off.

My point is this: How often does our doing of ministry get in the way of us being a ministry?

I’ll use myself as an example. I work for Compassion International. We are literally acting on the mandates and commands of Christ to look after the widow and the orphan, the hungry, the poor, and the afflicted. We are doing the work of God.  And when people ask what I do and I have the privilege of telling them about our ministry, they all respond with “Wow, that must be so fulfilling/rewarding/satisfying.”

And yes, it is. Without a doubt. But my work does not satisfy me completely. What I do does not fulfill me and bring me total peace.

What does bring me joy, peace, and hope though, is remembering that I am the work of Christ.

Beth Moore spoke at Catalyst earlier this month (more posts to come on that soon) and something she said shook me to the core.

“I’m miracle material.”

And I am. Everyone is. If anyone was without Christ and has now been saved by the free gift of His grace, through faith, than we all are miracle material. For we all have been rescued from death and freely given a new and righteous life. Is that not miraculous?

We are the object of His affection and His heart’s desire? Is that not miraculous considering where we have come from, the things we have done and the people we used to be?

Perhaps this is elementary to many, but I can not get over it.

I am a miracle.

You are a miracle.

We do not have to do His work, we only have to be His work.

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

6 responses »

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention It’s Who We Are, Not What We Do | Learning as I go… -- Topsy.com

  2. I love this, thank you for sharing. I always feel so miserly when people say “you work at Compassion, that is so cool, you are so blessed” and without a doubt I am. But like you say, that is a piece of me, not the whole. I want you to know the whole of me, the God redeemed, latte loving, family raising, book loving me.

    I am me, unique and highly desired by God. You are you, unique and highly prized by God.

    Lets walk around like you and I are miracles today, and treat others the same!

  3. Thank you for shraing that Meredith. I was thinking (re-thinking) about the doing (productivity) me last night…and reminded myself that just ‘being’ who I am is productive…I pray that God will order my steps (and yours) today and that every step is in his will….and that all starts with us ‘being’ us!

  4. The think about being “miracle material” is that sometimes we look at ourselves (me at myself) and say, “What was God thinking when he called me?”

    And thankfully God says, “I think I can work with this one. I’m speaking Words of Miracle over this one!”

    Being in ministry is about being transparent enough that others see Jesus through us…and the enemy mistakes us for him when we’re clothed in His (Jesus) robes of righteousness.

    • Beautifully said, Melody! I couldn’t agree more. I’m learning to pray “Lord, make much of yourself through me! I want to be a miracle for you!”

Leave a Reply

