It’s Not Them… It’s Us

Standard

Scott Harrison, founder and CEO of Charity Water, spoke at Catalyst in October. A former party planner, and NYC nightlife guru, paid to be seen drinking Vodka and wearing Rolex watches, you would think Scott would be the last person to care of people living in poverty.

Burn out, fed up, and “spiritually bankrupt,” Scott went on a 5 month trip to Africa as a photographer in conjunction with Mercy Ships.  Separated from all comforts familiar to him and removed from any sense normalcy, he encountered poverty for the first time. 

As he shared the rest of his story, he posed this simple question to himself: “How did I go so long without knowing? Why did I never know before?”

“It’s not because I didn’t care about the poor. It’s not because I was belligerently trying to ignore the need,” he said. “I just hadn’t been told the right story. I hadn’t been exposed to the entire truth.”

It’s been well over a month now since the Catalyst Conference and I have not been able to get his words out of my head.

 I just hadn’t been told the right story. I hadn’t been exposed to the entire truth.

I can not help but think that so many people who have come to Christ, either later in life or without any testimony by another believer, might make the same statement.

Non-profit organizations are popping up all over the place these days.  Being charitable, concerned about “global justice issues,” food shortages, dirty water, sex-trafficking, and the like are suddenly trendy.

Please do not misunderstand me. I am grateful for the activism, acknowledgement and generosity of so many because it truly is making an incredible difference and impacting millions of lives all over the world. 

I just have one question: Do we see friends, family members, and strangers in elevators as living souls? Do we care if they know Jesus? Do we feel compelled to help them hear, see, and understand the truth and power of His Gospel?

If I looked at people in my life through the lens of eternity, would I be as motivated to share with them the good news as the millions of young adults that are so eager to bring clean water to people in poverty?

Is a soul’s destination not as critical? Is not as urgent?

 I do not think I believe that people who don’t know Christ and His salvation have truly rejected Him.

I think, perhaps, they haven’t been told the entire story.

I think, maybe, they haven’t been given the whole truth.

And if that’s the one thing we know for certain, it should be the one thing we never fail to give out.

Leave a Reply

