Expecting the Supernatural

Standard

Hey.

I have a question.

If we, believers in Christ, have been raised with Him by the same death defeating and sin defying supernatural power of an incomprehensible, uncontainable, and infinite God… why do we not live and pray and wait with the expectation that one supernatural act will provoke another?

 If we are no longer of this world, but merely in it, should we not anticipate more supernatural movements and moments of God? 

Perhaps you do. But I realized this week that I do not.

I preach a lot bigger than I pray. And I pray a lot bigger than what I believe I’ll actually see. Which brings my faith average out to be a whopping zero. Zilch.

Because faith is believing in what we do not see, but hope for, according to Hebrews. This means that I am, more often than not, only fifty percent of the way there because while I pray, I’m often scared to hope.    

What’s more sobering is this statement by Richard Sibbes. 

It is atheism to pray and not wait in hope.

God, may we pray with deep, unwavering hope and expectation. Recall to our minds Your faithfulness that we may wait on You to move supernaturally in and through us again.

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

6 responses »

  1. What scares you about hoping??? Ever prayer you have, you can ask Christ for forgiveness. There are no limits to the prayers. I pray every night and sometimes multiple times / day. My prayers at night belong to the people I love and the daily prayers involve the Holy Rosary and the Lord’s Prayer. When I start feeling down, God lifts me up …

    Have a good evening.

    Gary

    • Hey Gary,
      Thanks so much for the comment and encouragement. I didn’t mean to communicate that I am scared to pray so much as I am scared to put too much weight on what it is that I pray for in case the Lord says, “No.” I know that a present disappointment can’t compare with the bigger, better thing He would have in store. What can I say, I’m human:) Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Excellent Post.

    The sentence that stuck out to me is that you pray “a lot bigger” than what you’ll expect to see. While I agree, we need to BELIEVE what we pray will actually come to pass, I think you’re probably ahead of many Christians. I would guess that not only do most of us lack faith, we lack big prayers. We continually underestimate our God. We don’t ask for the supernatural – and I don’t know why. We only ask for what we would “realistically expect” might happen. I suppose in this way we “let God off the hook.”

    One thing I struggle with is ending prayers with “if it be Your Will.” I think often times we attach these words so that if God does NOT heal whom we’re praying for, bring peace to a troubled soul, restore a marriage, etc – we can then say, “we’ll it must not have been God’s Will.” Thus when the prayer is offered there isn’t really “faith” behind it. Rather it’s like asking a question: “Lord, would you heal this marriage?” If He doesn’t, then we simply act as if the answer from God was “no.” If this happens enough, we gradually lose any sense that prayer is powerful or can actually “change” situations.

  3. Thanks for the good word! Without faith it is impossible to please God – Glad he is so merciful to us as we learn to walk in it. Blessings my new friend~ your faith is showing 🙂

Leave a Reply

