Hey Kettle. It’s Pot. You’re Black.

Standard

Have you ever had a conversation with someone, say a close friend, in which everything that you said to them turned out to be a truth that you needed to hear?

In other words, the circumstance that they were in, the thoughts and feelings they had, mirrored your own and when you attempted to speak into it  you realized that you had not practiced what you were preaching.

I have a real bad habit of being “that person.”  Let’s be honest, plenty of Christians know what to say, know what to recommend: more of Jesus.  But when it comes to walking that out, well… we stay put.

Last week, one of my closest friends expressed to me that she was very “unsure” about a particular situation she was in.  She knew where she wanted to be, confident of the destination that she hoped to arrive at, but was afraid of taking the next step to get there.

Confident that I could help encourage her from “past” experiences, I spoke up.

Well ___________ (friend’s name), at some point you will have to determine that if the destination holds greater value than where you stand now, you have to step out into the water. Just like the Israelites. When the Lord brought them to the river, He promised to lead them across dry land, but they had to put their feet in first. They had to obey His direction even when they didn’t understand the course.

God promises to grant you the desires of your heart, and if you think you see them just on the horizon, but the river of fears is at your feet, you have to step in first before He can dry them up.

And who’s to say that the roaring water isn’t just a farce.  We all have our insecurities and doubts.  But what if we stepped out into them… I wonder if we wouldn’t realize how shallow they really are. More than that, what waits on the other side should be the bigger motivation. Freedom. Deliverance. Life no longer defined or dictated by fear.

Take the chance. Take just one step.

In that moment, I heard a third voice in our conversation.

“Psst, Mere. God here. I hope you paid attention to what you just said.  Ironically enough, that’s what I have been trying to tell you but you keep avoiding me.”

She didn’t say anything.  I didn’t say anything.  Turns out, I had spoken the very thing I had heard spoken to me, but instead of being encouraged and taking the chance, taking that step, I said “thanks,” and kept sitting on the water’s edge staring at the river.

At least my friend had her eyes on the horizon.  My gaze had been completely fixated on the rushing water.  

If you sit in one place long enough, convincing yourself that your comfortable where you are and that you can manage your fear simply by looking at it, you’ll find you lose sight of the vision because you became consumed by the view. 

My friend just looked at me. “That’s huge,” she said.

“Yeah,” I replied dryly.  “Guess I should give it a shot since I told you too, huh?”

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

9 responses »

  1. Me too! It’s worse when the words come out of your mouth totally unexpected as you’re preaching with passion and conviction!

    I do like it though when I hear amazing wisdom come out of my mouth and think “where on earth did that come from?” I like to think that the wisdom comes straight from God to the person I’m talking to.

  2. Great post! Yes, seems that whatever we say in respect to edification, if we’re truly listening, he is saying it to us first. I get that alot -ugh! Yay… i’ve learned how to listen better /yikes! I’m terrible at applying it. But thank Him for being so patient with our continued refinement. Meredith thanks for your humilty and great writing- blessings!

    • Thank you so much Kevin, for your continual encouragement! I’m with you; I have learned to listen better, but I haven’t quite mastered following through. But like you said, praise God for His patience!

  3. Dang Mere, you said in a sentence what I just lived intensely and ugly-ly.
    “If you sit in one place long enough, convincing yourself that your comfortable where you are and that you can manage your fear simply by looking at it, you’ll find you lose sight of the vision because you became consumed by the view.”
    Thanks for giving it a beautiful picture…

  4. I have been that person.
    A lot of my friends tend to come to me for advice and sometimes I just talk because I’m good at it.
    Thankful the Lord is helping me to rearrange my priorities and truly make Him first in my life. I ‘m also thankful that He is consuming with His love & I am now motivated to everything WITH thanks and for HIS glory. That’s big for me as sometimes my “gifts” come easy and I’m nit sure I’ve always given Him all the credit.
    Thanks for this! Great post

Leave a Reply

