Where I’ve Been

Standard

Maybe you’ve noticed I’ve been unplugged for the last couple of months.

Maybe you haven’t.

Maybe you have wondered where I’ve been and what I have been up to.

Most likely not.

Regardless, I thought I’d fill you in on the ever evolving transition that is my life.

For starters, my roommate got married.  So she is no longer my roommate… even though I tried to convince her and her now-husband that our apartment was plenty big enough. Three’s really not company, it’s just cozy.  They didn’t buy it. I had the privilege of standing by her on her wedding day.  And I sobbed like an idiot. Then I stood up and gave a speech at her reception.  And I cried some more. Finally, I invested in water-proof mascara.

Shortly after, I moved to a new part of town into a townhouse with a close friend. Her name is Tanya and she busts out of her room in the wee hours of the morning to sing to me when I am in my bathroom getting ready for work.  She’s actually a really incredible singer. Even at 6:15AM… without caffeine.

Momma Dunn came up to help me move, as she always does.  I’ve never moved without her.  She’s my sanity when it comes to moving.  And she’s my decorator. And as always, she put a perfect touch of “home” into the new abode with a dash of fashion, a hint of country, and plenty of sass.

The boyfriend and his lovely mother also came to help.  The moms bonded and I left plenty of wall hangings for the boyfriend to hang so I could watch him use a hammer and nails.

Speaking of the boyfriend, I’ve been continuing my adventures down to Florida to see him.  My most recent trip was in May to see him finish primary aviation training at NAS Whiting where he selected an aircraft. By “select” I mean that he was told what he would fly for the rest of his career.  He was given Ospreys. I won’t lie, it’s a bizarre looking aircraft, but he gets to maintain his daily uniform of a flight suit, so I’m perfectly content.  Flight suits are the best looking onesies I have ever seen. In case you were curious.

But I have to be honest. He’s not my boyfriend anymore.

Last weekend he came to visit me.  And not only did he come to visit me, but he brought me a present.

A shiny present.

And I accepted.

See?

 

About mndunn26

I recently realized that my life is somewhat of a beautiful mess. A "pollack-type-picture" if you will, of colors, experiences, and people that, despite the seeming disarray, is captivating & confusing; patterened & yet unpredictable. But most of all, it is mysteriously designed, purposed, and appointed. For what? I don't know yet... but I'm learning as I go.

10 responses »

  1. I was that roomie!! Yay! And now I get to be in your wedding and sob. Looking forward to it, luv 🙂

    I’ve missed you so very much!

    PS – love the ring. Blingin’

  2. Hi Meredith,
    How Wonderful that our oldest grand daughter is engaged!!! We are so-o-o happy for you.Toby seems like a wonderful young man what little we know him. However, we fully trust your judgement.
    All the best to you, sweetheart. If we can’t be at the Golden Bee, maybe papa and I can dance at your wedding!

  3. And you know what’s great – is we are both engaged – since we got to know each other! How fun is that. When is the big day? Ours is Oct 8!

    • I saw the news and thought to myself “No wonder we’re friends!” How fun would it be to meet in person?! If you’re in Colorado for any reason between now and the big day, we should compare wedding planning notes! Our day is November 12th! So excited for you friend, congrats!!

Leave a Reply

