Of Shoe Shiners & Saints

Standard

There are countless reasons I could give for why I love working at Compassion International. If you asked my everyday for a year, I am confident I could give you a different answer.

It’s not just the work that we do, releasing children from poverty in Jesus’ name, that brings satisfaction.  Honestly, there are some days that if feels more impossible than probable.  The issue of poverty is huge, and when push comes to shove, we have a long way to go.  But those days are growing fewer as the Church begins to awaken to the call of Isaiah 58.

It’s working alongside faithful followers of Christ.  It’s the church, being the church, that is perhaps the biggest blessing and greatest comfort in carrying my seemingly small day-to-day responsibilities. In the grand scheme of the Compassion totem pole, I’m somewhere very close to the bottom.  And yet, I know that the light load I am able to carry, must in fact be carried so I am grateful to play my part. Everyone from our CEO and President to the crew that translates child letters to the team that processes every check that comes in, touches the life of a child simply because they showed up for work.

But this is still not even what I count the greatest benefit.

It’s hearing God tell His story.  It’s seeing Christ in the smile of every child that survived another year and every sponsor that decided having cable wasn’t a justifiable excuse for not sponsoring a child.

It’s seeing the King and Creator of the universe manifest Himself in the most unlikely, humble, and easy-to-miss places. In mud huts covered with thatched leaves in Ethiopia, eating nothing but bread. In cardboard shanties along sewage-ridden streets in Kenya, drinking dirty water. In the cold and desolate mountain communities of Bolivia, herding lamas.  In the most rural and indigenous forests of Ecuador, hunting with a bow and arrow.

In a small town in South Korea, shining shoes.

It’s the stories.  And this, is just one of dozens that we see and hear about every week.

It’s the stories of ordinary people with ordinary lives, doing the most extraordinary things, because we serve an extraordinary God.

Every week I come to work, I pray that He writes an extraordinary story through my ordinary life.

I pray that you invite Him to do the same.

Leave a Reply

